Access training!? Anybody used them? Need help to get quals

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dalejones

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok I've been doin carpentry since I left school and for the last 5 years I've been working for Tesco maintenance, I have never done any qualifications in carpentry and I really want to be "qualified"

Access training offer a 8 week coarse mon-fri and that gets you C&G 6706-23

Would that mean I'm a qualified carpenter? Also the coarse is £3800

I'm restricted as my work won't release me 1 day a week to go to college and Tesco maintenance isn't good enough for site evidence as there is limited carpentry work that I do for them, only the odd firedoor etc.

I really want to have papers as in the future I wish to leave Tesco and maybe move to australia or get a job with a carpentry firm, help would be appreciated! Dale

Speak to an emigration agency or two and find out what you need. I suspect that being employed as a carpenter for years will be more relevant than a C&G cert.
I'm not an employer but every 'hands on' job I've ever applied for or had has paid no heed to qualifications, i.e. the requirement is the ability to do the job or at least an aptitude for it and the willingness to learn whilst being paid a pittance and sweeping up.

I worked in australia for two years I have a NVQ level 3 which added points to our family visa I had to do a 3 day first aid course and H and S course for 1 day my NVQ didn't mean anything when I got there but I got work within a week and had a nice time we came back for reasons I won't go into,
I think you will find a C&G is equivalent to NVQ level 2,
slate.

Seems bloody expensive and a very short course.
Have you asked at local colleges? Maybe I'm out of touch but there used to be masses of training/education available free of charge.

Jacob":25xf6myi said: