Becoming a qualified Carpenter

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dalejones

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok so I left school and from the ages 17- 21 I worked as a carpenters labourer, so I know a lot about it, went to college but only got very basic qualifications, mum passed away when I was 21 and it put a stop on my college work and progressing in the subject, I then started working for Tesco Maintence where I have been working for 4 years, I have always had my heart set on carpentry and I really want to go back to my roots, it's just finding the best route to get back on the horse!

I earn a decent wage at the moment so before I leave tesco I need to make sure I'm going in the right direction, I went to my local college and had a chat with the lecturers but my problem is without an employer I won't get the site evidence I need to finish the coarse, anyone got any advise? I'm currently thinking about finding an employer that would take me on and doing some sort of evening class that will help get my qualifications, I'm no beginner I can do all aspects of carpentry from cut roofs to fitted kitchens but without my papers and confidence I am struggling,

I am currently 26 if this helps, I also have a lot of tools/power tools and a large workshop garage where I do a lot of furniture making as a hobby, thanks for any advice and direction.

Who is it you want to work for?

Most carpenters I know are either self employed or work for a building firm -but these are mostly CIS not on the payroll.

Builders will be interested in your ability not your qualifications.

If think I would decide what sort of work you want to do; first fix, roofing, 2nd fix, kitchens, new build etc then research how much demand there is in your area.

Its worth looking on checkatrade, local magazines etc for carpenters and building firms.