Clear coat lacquer with Earlex HVLP 4000

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sammy.se

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm completely new to spraying and I have got myself an Earlex HVLP 4000 to start experimenting with.
I want to experiment with a clear coat lacquer, to go over a simple project I have that has been dyed.

I've tried to read up on the subject, but there is a myriad of products out there, and I'm not sure what I should get.

I want to achieve a satin finish - is that something like 50% gloss?
I would prefer water based, but if the advice is that oil based is better, I'll go with that.

I think I need to put a couple of coats of sanding sealer on my project before I spray - is that correct?
Which clear lacquer and thinner do you recommend I buy?

Many thanks - sorry for the beginner questions!

Sammy

Morrells defines 'gloss' as:

"Term used to describe the visual or measured ‘sheen’ of a lacquer or finish. Typically rated as gloss (80-90%), Satin (45-65%), Semi-Matt (20-40%), Matt (10-20%) and Dead Matt (0-5%). The level of sheen is measured by a gloss meter which calculates the amount of light reflected from the film surface at 60°."

So your suggestion of 50% gloss fits in with their definition of satin.

FWIW, I used Morrells w/b lacquer 30% sheen (product code: 8303/362) on a hardwood floor and, imo, it's a satin finish - when compared to other satin paint finishes - so there's an element of subjectivity here.

It's not designed for floors but having applied by spray and roller/brush I can speak positively about it's ease of application and, so far, performance.

Not sure whereabouts in London you are but if it's anywhere near KT4, pop me a PM and you'd be welcome to inspect the lacquer finish and even pick up for free some 2+ litres of lacquer that I have left over.

Hi Mike,