Does anybody know the Thread size of a Wadkin bzl lathe?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

13eightyfour

Established Member
Reaction score
I posted a while ago about buying a lathe, and took the advice given a went in search of an older model instead of a shiney new one. Eventually i came across a WADKIN BZL which was local and well within my budget, so i had to get it.

Now the problem ive got is that i have no idea of the thread sizes for the lathe and really want a 4 jaw chuck. Can anybody help?

As you can guess im a newbie to this, everything else about the lathe is great and works a treat, but im getting itchy fingers and want to have a go at some proper bowl/vase turning :lol:

Hi.

Don't know the thread size but you can download the manual Here.

Then this will show you how to measure your spindle thread size. Just scroll down the page a bit.

thanks for the speedy reply, yeah i downloaded the manual when i got the lathe, and its rather UNhandy with the thread sizes :?

thanks for the thread measuring link though, ill have to go measure tomorrow and see what happens.

thanks

I've got a feeling it's going to be the same as a BL 150, which is.....duhh....I'll measure it tomorrow !

Think it's 1 1/2" x 8tpi - dead easy to check if you've got the lathe though - measure diameter and the number of threads over 1".

The problem will come with getting a chuck backplate to fit though - you'll get the right thread diameter and pitch, but the length of thread housing and design for it to register onto the spindle will be difficult.

Best option is to get either an original chuck as supplied with a Wadkin (difficult) or have a machine shop make a backplate to suit (costly)

On my BL I had to resort to cutting part of the spindle off the lathe for it to register the Axminster Super Precision.

Chris.