Thinking about building a workshop/large shed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KevB

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm Kev from Whitburn, Tyne and Wear. Thanks for having me on board.What it is, I'm hoping to make a start on building a large shed/workshop in my back garden sometime this year.

First of all I have no experience whatsoever with this idea and I was hoping for some (lots rather lol) of advice on whether or not I will be able to achieve it, or even afford it. My dad is a builder and he would be helping me, though I would like to have a go at most things myself with him overlooking me.

My budget at the moment is only a few hundred quid, so I have a lot of saving to do :roll: . I was thinking around 5x2.5 meters with a height of 2.5 meters at the highest point. Maybe a little smaller if the floor area turns out to be slightly to large for building regs. A flat felted slopping roof, with a base made of flagstones (which I already have). Shiplap cladding for the outside and some sort of insulation in the walls, etc.

My plan is to use half of the shed to put my weights bench in and the other half as a small area whereas I can have a go at making picnic tables etc for our garden. There will be no machinery or anything like that going in, just mainly hand tools.

I would like the building to be fairly sturdy and look ok, though I'll always be on a budget with this, meaning I won't be able to afford the best materials.

Could any of you guys give me any idea as to how much this may roughly cost? And whether or not any members here have built something similar whilst keeping costs at a minimum?

Thanks for reading and any advice would be great : )

If you are on a budget you might want to consider building it to minimise waste. multiples of 2.44 to suit plywood sheets etc.