Table saw Purchase choices

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riggly

Established Member
Reaction score
Please exscuse my repetition of this type of question but i am in a bit of a quandry. I am a kitchen fitter for a living and wish to renovate my current kitchen by making my own doors panels and cornice etc from oak. I realise that i will need a good table saw for a large amount of this work and noticed a 240v Robland e300 with a 1700 sliding table on Felders Website for £1500. When i rang them up it had gone and they have since quoted me for a new Hammer K3 winner with a 1250 sliding table (though i will probably want it bigger) at £2350 which is beggining to stretch my budget. Does anyone have experience of any of these machines or manufacturers or could they recommend any others that i may have missed. This saw would start the beginings of my workshop as i have a dewalt 708 chop saw and a 1850 dewalt Router spare which i plan to build into a table. Finally I am presuming that with a bigger sliding table this assists in ripping sheets but does it hinder you to cutting smaller peices and does the outrigger fold away or get in the way when working. I havent seen any of these tools in action yet and will have a good play with them before emptying the piggy bank. Thanks for all your patience.

both machines you mention sound on the industrial side of home workshop is this a business venture?!! do you have plenty of space? ripping and crosscutting panels requires unbeleivable amounts of room around the saw. hence the popularity of vertical saws(wall saws). making cornice and panel doors will need, as you mention a router table. 1250 is sized to crosscut 8 by 4 and is a useful amount. the robland universals i have used have always been good.

Hi Riggly,

Welcome to the forum. :D