static electricity

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

head clansman

Established Member
Reaction score
hi guys

this is to the electrician on the forum here , As i'm no electrician what is the difference between static electricity and electricity, apart from the strength of the shock you would get from either my reason for the question is my understanding of static electricity (for dust ectraction ) it's normally earthed to a copper earthing pole , while mains electricity is earth back through the green/yellow earth cable in the house or work shop to the fuse box and then to earth , so can static electricity be earth in the same way doing away with the need for another copper earth pole, does that make any sense . Or is it best to keep both earths seperate . hc

earth is earth so you can connect your static discharge to the house earth with no problems.

You need volts and amps for power transmission. volts x amps = watts in simple DC circuits.

Enough volts combined with enough current flow (amps) can kill you.

Static electricity....Stupidly high number voltage but with very low current makes a spark that can arc across a few mm air gap and makes you jump jump as it leaps off your finger - but because there is so little current does not harm you.

normal electricity....Voltages that are dangerous to touch because they are backed up by a supply that can deliver current as well and enough power to do damage.

Low voltage... Can transmit power too but without higher voltage to overcome our resistance to electricity cannot shock us with enough current to do any harm. A few volts but thousands of amps in a low resistance circuit and you've got a spotwelder for sheet metal.

hi

thanks robert that all i wanted to know really , so i can wire into one of the power socket earths to go to ground/earth . brill that saved some loot . hc