Should home made lathe bench be fixed to walls as well

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ndbrown

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to turning (and this forum) and have added a secondhand lathe (Record Coronet No 3) to my list of equipment. I plan to mainly make legs/spindles for my cabinetmaking. I will be locating this in my recently built shed where I have already built a bench using 4 x 2 and 18mm plywood. The bench is secured to the floor and to the walls, which are constructed using 4 x 2 and also lined with 18mm ply, in other words it is all rock solid. Problem is, I have just read an article where it say that on no account should the stand/bench be fixed to a wall? I assume this is for minimising vibration? If necessary, I will rip it all out and re-build a sturdy freestanding floor stand. Before I do this, I hoped that all the experienced turners out there would give me some advice on this. I had a look on the forum before posting this but could not find anything specific on this. Thanks

Hi ndbrown,

Welcome to the forum. :D

I am not a turner so have no idea about the fixing of lathe benchs. but there a number of very good turners here who will no doubt give a wide range of different answers to your question. :roll:

The more solid you can make the lathe mounting the better, so if fixing it to the wall and the floor achieves this so be it.

Although with spindle turning lathe vibration should not be a problem because of out of balance, neither should external vibrations transmitted by the structure be of any significance to your finish.

The lathe WILL shake about if not mounted rigidly if you ever try to turn a bowl or similar with out of balance wood.

Welcome to the forum, forgot in the rush to stop you ripping out your bench.:lol:

Hello and welcome :D