High-gloss, hard-wearing finish

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jelly

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm just starting on a project which will culminate in needing to finish a coarse open grained wood (Meranti), with a much finer grained inlay (Sycamore), the aesthetics call for a glass like finish, not unlike the appearance of French Polish.

I also own french polished furniture and whilst it's lovely, it's also vulnerable to damage, which I'd rather avoid in this piece.

I've got access to a spray booth and sprayer, so was considering acid-cat laquers, of which I have no experience. Before I just buy a small quantity to do some tests with (it's not cheap!) Am I barking up the wrong tree entirely? My fear is that the laquer will give a high-build, plasticy look which will be wholly incongruous.

I'm also trying to work out how to subtlely darken the Meranti to a deep red-brown whilst keeping the Sycamore creamy white, I'm assuming stain or dye the components after preparing them to receive the inlaid pieces, but before fitting them.

Up to now I've used a mix of Shelac and Rosin (Colophony) dissolved in Double Boiled Linseed as a varnish, which works wonderfully, but crucially doesn't give a high enough sheen, not to mention that it takes a week or so between coats, and a month or more before it fully cures.

You're not making it easy on your self using Meranti can't you find a bit of Brazilian mahogany or even use sapele, then you could use a chemical stain to darken the mahogany.

Chrispy":1nfbw3nx said:
You're not making it easy on your self using Meranti can't you find a bit of Brazilian mahogany or even use sapele, then you could use a chemical stain to darken the mahogany.

In a word: No, I can't. :|