Entertainment Unit - with WIP pics

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

promhandicam

Established Member
Reaction score
This is the first 'proper' bit of furniture I have made since coming here to Lomé, so I thought that I'd share with you the steps in its construction. Before I start, I’d like to acknowledge the fact that without this forum and the generous advice of many different members this project would never have come to fruition.

As some of you may remember, from a recent thread, once upon a time I worked as a design draughtsman, so you might imagine there would be a nice detailed drawing that I worked from. Well, I did try to do something in Sketch-Up but I just can’t get the hang of it. As I don’t have access to a drawing board, in the end, as I could visualise what I wanted, I did it pretty much all in my head – with the exception of a few calculations to work out a cutting list.

The first stage was to prepare the wood which I bought from a local carpenter friend. He told me that it is teak but I am pretty sure that it is actually Afrormosia, a native of Ghana where both the wood (and he) comes from. When I got the boards they were quite rough as they’d been dimensioned with a chainsaw. So the boards had to be planned and squared up before being glued up to make some panels. The method used to clamp up the panels was one that Scrit suggested and seemed to work well. I used biscuits to help with alignment.

209986563d94dbeab3f4a10c4f762a9b7f380836ef53d40b87eb2571b8a82a7f01668fa0.jpg

Once the panels were glued up I moved on to making the draws. For this I used my newly acquired dovetail jig which once set up proved to be very good.

8600088674409c40ebe5253b4b3e500cc1f83c5dbfa0a03c2847a042ebb3626b8ac793d9.jpg

A pile of draw front and sides.

023911198c2db474e47493a6f6db97817e334442fdaf0220415beceafe422939757644b0.jpg