Drying / Preparing Felled Timber

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Little Ern

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm sure this will have been covered before but I am never very successful at using the search facility.
A mate of mine fells trees as part of his job and due to a tornado in Derby last week there is an abundance of timber available which he is involved in cutting up and carting away. He has offered me a some odd small/medium sized trunks including some Yew. I'm new to this game but
thought someone might be able to give me a few pointers.
I'll be able to plank up to about 8-9" Dia stuff when the bandsaw arrives and recognize that it will need to be stacked properly to dry out.
Any major do's and don'ts? Also what about turning blanks?
Should I let the logs dry out a while before planking?
Sorry if these are 'noddy' questions.

It just seems too good to miss but I don't want to end up with a yard full
of timber if it's not worth doing anything with.

Many Thanks,

I've not much experience of doing this but it is essential to seal the ends of your logs as soon as possible to stop them drying too quickly and splitting. Gloss paint, bitumen paint and melted paraffin wax are often quoted as being suitable. As ever the experts will probably be along soon with better information.