Best strategy for spray finishing large doors

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fobos8

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm fairly new to spraying and I need some advise on the most efficient and effective way to apply 4 coats of waterbased lacquer to some 400x2000mm maple veneered wardrobe doors. My spray booth is 3x3m so I reckon I could comfortably fit 3 or 4 in at a time. I need to finish both sides and all four edges.

My initial thoughts are to lay them flat, spray the edges first and then do one surface, allow surface to dry and then flip to do other surface only.

Does anyone else have some better ideas/experience doing this sort of thing?

Many thanks, Andrew

since no one else seems to have taken up the baton, maybe i can try to offer some help.

laying the door flat will i think make it more difficult to get a good finish.

i would suggest doing the edges and the top and bottom by holding the door vertically in a wedge, then having done all the edges, you can spray one side and the other. then once dry turn over and start again.

if you are going to put them up vertically you ought to think about pushing
pins into the stand and supporting the doors on them so that the smallest
possible surface sticks through the varnish. these pimples are
easily repaired later.

you might think about laying the doors are 45 degrees might also be helpful. i think you would get less running if the doors are horizontal rather than vertical.

paul