Wood turning lathe power feed or manual if that's a thing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave_87

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
Apart from dabbling in school many moons ago, I'm new to turning.
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a wood turning lathe with a power feed or manual feed like metal working lathe has?
I've had a search on Google but can only find DIY solutions but would prefer a stock one.
If at all possible I'd also like to be able to swap it for a normal tool rest/post.
Does anyone know if this exists?

Thanks,
Dave.

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

I have only seen it on a massive wadkin lathe.

Why do you want it- is it something that the correct technique and practice would overcome?

A power feed such as a crossslide will not be able to react to a change in the cutting sound if a change in the structure of the wood is encountered.
As Marcos said ‘why wood you want it’.

Dave

A copy lathe or attachment is the only thing I can think of, but as above I cannot see the benefit. People do use metal lathes for wood but I think it would be very slow and limiting, if you consider the continuous and subtle changes we make to tool presentation a machine would never reproduce that. guess the short answer is "Practice".

Isn't this what a Legacy ornamental lathe does? There used to be some Legacy owners on here so a search might find good info.

There are automatic lathes for mass production, but I don't think many amateurs want to take all the fun and skill out of their turning!

You need good rigidity and stability to use a power feed, as well as accurate lathe ways. Wood lathes (for their size) have none of this I am afraid.

If you want to be able to do metal and wood work remember that you can turn wood on a metal lathe, but you cant turn metal on a wood lathe. So basically, buy a metal lathe.

marcros":3vq9dhl4 said: