An experiment: Critique

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bodrighy

Established Member
Reaction score
I have four logs of hawthorn, all of which have the middle rotted out. They are crying out for something to be done with them. This is my first attempt. Critique, ideas, etc etc all welcome.

The outer rim is sanded and polished, the inside of the log has been cleaned and wire brushed to get rid of all loose stuff and ten lightly polished. The little sycamore bowl is floating in the middle, not on the floor. It is attached by it's rim to the underside of the protrusion on the one side.
The 2nd image is looking directly down on it.

Pete

Looks good Pete.
How about cutting a true circle out the middle and fitting a larger bowl so it sits in the hole,leaving plenty of the log rim showing :?: :?:

I have another couple of the logs Paul so I may do something like that. With this one I wanted the contrast between the log and the polished inner bowl.

Pete

If another piece has a more oval-ish centre hole, then an eye could possibly be formed with something making up the iris/pupil parts? Im thinking Eye of Sauron here.

Are they too small to make an unusual picture frame/mirror?

Or, taking your original idea a little further, perhaps bowl-out the inner (is that the correct term) a little, and suspend a bowl over the centre with tensioned wires?

Please note, I have no idea how these suggestions may be accomplished. They are just ideas......

I love the look of your bowl-in-the-middle as it is, however :)

Cheers.
Adam

Thanks Adam,

I like the eye idea, the hawthorn is about 9" outside diameter and inside varies from log to log. Could be a frame of some sort but not too sure about a picture frame myself. I originally thought of suspending this one on a wire but it was turned thin and would have been too fragile A possibility for another one though

Pete