Which 1/2" router ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krysstel

Established Member
Reaction score
I have an Elu MOF96 1/4" which I have almost only used hand-held. With a recently purchased Veritas dust extractor attachment it's even now possible to extract dust from it for the first time ever ! I also have a very small Elu table which has it's advantages over hand-held but it takes so long to mount the machine in the table that I almost always try to get by without. Such has been the situation for about 5 years now, but now I've had enough !
I must have (a) another router and (b) a proper table.
Question is, which ?
I'm no proff and can't really justify the cost of a Dewalt, Makita, Bosch. So what should I go for ? Obviously we're talking about a 1/2" router as I still have the good old 1/4" Elu for hand-held. The new router will be permanently table mounted. Good dust extraction is very important - I'm fed up with filling the room (and my lungs) with dust every time I work with MDF. What about Ryobi, or Trend, or Axminster's own ? I could even stretch to a Triton or Hitachi if they're really worth the extra.
Anybody with opinions :?: :)
With regards to a new router table; I'll probably start a new thread, but first the new router ..............

I can highly recommend the Triton for permanently mounting in a table. its too much of a beast for most hand held work but has got some great features for tables. (thru base collet, scrolling height adjustment etc) dust extraction on mine is pretty good, I have 2 intakes to the extractor, one from the fence and one from the back of the cabinet.

Killer feature for me was it was 1/2 the price of a T11 :lol:

what about a second hand Elu, 177 or 177e...You know the make is good and they are fairly straightforward to strip and refurb if required,
I had a 177 in a table for years, until I got a Triton.