Supply required to power Digital Phase Convertor

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

O'Chippy

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm a carpenter by training but having recently purchased a victorian house in need of significant refurbishment I have decided to assemble a workshop so I can produced millwork and joinery "in-house".
The 5m x 5m garage/shed that I will be setting up the workshop is located at the end of my garden and this garage may in time be demolished as part of the overall project.
Therefore the current power supply to the building (detailed and illustrated below) will not be upgraded.

I value old cast iron machinery and there being much greater choice of these machines in the 3 phase variety I'm considering if I could used a Digital Phase Convertor to provide 3 phase supply within the workshop.
I understand that the limiting factor will be my existing supply and was hoping someone may be able to comment on the suitable of my existing supply to power a DPC?

I will only need to power a single machine at a time and I am willing to forgo dust extraction (and it's power requirement) in this temporary workshop.
Power requirement wise, I'd like to have sufficient juice to power a Wadkin EQ 511 and associated power feed, similar to this machine
If the existing supply is not sufficient I will just have to settle for hobbyist grade machinery for the time being.

1: Sub fused board from incoming supply to supply cable to garage
1692778384717.png

2: ~70metre run of 20mm OD supply cable to garage:
1692778749843.png

3: Garage sub fuse board, currently 1no fuse for 13amp sockets and 1no fuse for a light
1692778857884.png

You have 30A available from the incoming supply so you can get a sparky to add a 20 or 30A breaker and circuit in your garage. That's enough to drive a usefully sized DPC.