super glue as a plaster

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doctor Bob

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Over the last month I have found super glue to be an excellent medical aid...

1/ blacked nail about to come off and catching on everything, super glue it on and let it grow out naturally
2/ Blisters due to rowing, plasters kept coming off, so super glued over them, perfect no pain whatsoever.
3/ nasty cut, glued it shut, lasted about a day by which time the healing had started.

question is am I going to die of super glue poisoning?

Works for me too, great for paper and other similar cuts, stops them catching and popping open again, haven't died yet (tempting fate !) :)

Cheers, Paul

The stuff in hospitals is near enough the same stuff. Super glue was designed and invented for treating gunshot wounds on the battlefield by the US army.

When I worked as a butcher I cut myself very deeply many times and would have lost a days pay if it wasn't for the use of superglue.

DISCLAIMER: In the event of injury you should always seek professional medical treatment.

One of my sons cut the back of his head open on a playground a couple of years ago. Lorraine took him to A&E, and they superglued the cut together.

Interesting linky Pete - i'd always understood it was developed in WW1 for glueing wounds together. Clearly an urban myth.

Cheers

Karl

I had heard like you Karl that it was developed for treating wounds, but in Vietnam. Just goes to show you can't believe everything you read.

I've used it for years, ever since my wife attended a caesarian section operation where the surgeon used it to glue the rather sizeable cut together. (I felt decidedly queazy at the gory tale). :oops: