Stripping oak sideboard - or not

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom61

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello to all.
Absolute beginner here.
Just got this from a second hand shop.
Guy said it came from a Poirot set and was about 90 years old.
Wife's watched every episode of Poirot at least 10 times so it was a no brainer for her.
She wants me to strip it back to new?
Can it be done?
I'm not bad at carpentry, and I can strip it down into its component parts to make things easier.
Guy said he wouldn't do that, he said to clean/feed it with equal parts of meths/turps/Danish oil mixed.
Said the patina would be lost otherwise.
Trouble is, the wife's only heard of fish and tatey patties, and wants it to look like new.
Any advice would be most gratefully accepted.
Thank you.
3.jpg

Attachments

• 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    229.6 KB · Views: 1,219
Hello and welcome, I would guess at 1930's or 1940's manufacture. See what others say,
This look like the original finish, what sort of re finish are you looking for?
I think it's thin veneer and the amount of work involved to scrape and get through the finish varnish and stain to bare wood will be long and arduous.
A pic of you're desired finish would probably be very helpful
Regards Rodders

Hello and welcome, I would guess at 1930's or 1940's manufacture. See what others say,
This look like the original finish, what sort of re finish are you looking for?
I think it's thin veneer and the amount of work involved to scrape and get through the finish varnish and stain to bare wood will be long and arduous.
A pic of you're desired finish would probably be very helpful
Regards Rodders