Screwfix Deal on Scheppach HA1000 Dust Extractor (£100)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a bandsaw, so something like this is on my never-ending list of kit to buy.
However... at 'a hunnerd squid', that Scheppagh looks awfully expensive for a 1000w vacuum... and the reviews aren't particularly stunning. As a beginner myself, I'd not touch that.

Several forum members here have recommended the Katsu brand of ash/fireplace vacuums you can get on eBay. £40 will get you a 1200w one. These usually have standard size hose fitments, so you can use all the usual vacuum attachments if you need and places like Axminster sell adapters so you fit them to your power tools and machinery.

Tasky":1qataias said:
.........Several forum members here have recommended the Katsu brand of ash/fireplace vacuums you can get on eBay. £40 will get you a 1200w one. These usually have standard size hose fitments, so you can use all the usual vacuum attachments if you need and places like Axminster sell adapters so you fit them to your power tools and machinery.

Not knocking the Katsu but, not much good for the OPs use - would clog with shavings. Rutlands have a cheaper model than the Screwfix one but no personal experience of either - https://www.rutlands.co.uk/sp+power-too ... nds+dk7109

i use an old earlex wet/dry shop vac connected to a cyclone, the vac is pushing 15 years old and still works well although it looks nothing like it's original incarnation, but it's the cyclone that has made so much difference, i have also made fitments for the cyclone to run from some of my other vacs as a backup if the earlex dies,

GrahamF":28ngr1i3 said:
Not knocking the Katsu but, not much good for the OPs use - would clog with shavings.

A cyclone would solve that problem.