Scrap wood coasters

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernienufc

Established Member
Reaction score
Trying to use left over wood from my money boxes i decided to try my hand at an inlay.
It was a lot harder than i thought and there is a lot more to take into consideration than i expected, so for my first attempt i am pleased :lol: only 5 more to go...........

coaster.jpg

Attachments

• coaster.jpg
    coaster.jpg
    102.8 KB · Views: 1,088
Looks good though. Did you cut it at an angle? I've never tried doing any inlays but have been contemplating having a go with polymer clay after seeing an example of SG's forum.

Yes i did cut them at an angle, in fact it was at 5 degrees according to my scale on the saw.
What i have found is at my skill level i have a high degree of non-repeatability, i was unable to make 4 very close enough to be happy. I threw away 3 as they broke or were just very poor. But most of all i have enjoyed yet another aspect as to what can be done, it makes you appreciate even more some of the work you see people making.
It was a good learning exercise and i did learn a lot.....in that i will need a hell of a lot more wood for practise.
I have put them on a form to sell for a couple of quid for fun that it will raise for my charity which makes it even more worthwhile to me.
So after a couple of hours practise here is how it ended for today, back to work tomorrow :cry:

coasters.jpg

Attachments

• coasters.jpg
    coasters.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 1,042
Baldhead":322kwet3 said:
That's very good, are you doing different pets? I'd like to see them all when your finished.

Baldhead

Hi
I probably will not do any other pets as these were to learn how inlay works and i had some scrap wood left over to try.
My goal is to be able to make a bread/cheese board with a greyhound inlay thats good enough to put on the greyhound auction.