Router Confusion - Another which router thread...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vikash

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Need opinions on which router to buy. I've been using a cheapo £20 router for basic stuff for 5 years now and would like to invest in something decent/accurate. I'll be using it mostly for hand held work but I intend to buy/build a simple table for it sometime in the future.

Firstly I'm not sure whether to go for a 1/4" or 1/2" router (if I could still find the B&Q Triton offer this would all be moot). My hands are large and the larger router sizes don't put me off (but the costs do). I mostly cut birch ply/MDF.

I'm pretty much a beginner but don't want something that I will quickly outgrow if I start using it more. I'm planning a heavy duty workbench and doing my first Mortice cuts with it. Other then that I build a fair few speaker cabinets (only circle cutting, rebates and roundovers really) and would really like a router that is in several leagues above what I currently use i.e. one that has smooth plunge action, decent build quality, quick and accurate depth setting/measurements.

I'd like to spend <£100 but I'm flexible if it's worth spending more.

V

Exactly the same situation that I am in, I think really youve got to go for 1/2 inch with out a doubt as the 1/4 bits are rather size limited.

I narrowed my choices down to the Trend T11 or the Triton 2200W both retail for well over £100 first hand but it is possible to pick them up second hand a lot cheaper. Both are well set up for table use with micro adjustment and quick table release.

Hi Vikash,

I think if you are wanting it for handheld use, you should discount the Triton. It really is designed to be in a table, an is quite 'tippy' when upright.

I'll let others give you recommendations.