Picture frame advice for a novice.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pietrach

Reaction score
Hi

First of all I would like to say hello as this is my first post on this forum. I am new to woodworking with no experience whatsoever except for normal house involving cutting drilling and sanding.
However I was always fascinated by quality solid wood furniture and general woodworking. Now I want to make the first step into making things, and decided to start with a picture frame.
I have no tools beyond a wood saw, a drill and sand paper, and I would like to keep it this was until I realise what really I need ( saw table, router etc).

I watched various frame making techniques on youtube and I have a pretty good Idea what I want to start with, but I would be grateful if you could help me with the following:

1) Not having a saw table I need to work with wood widths I have unless… is there any other cheaper way of getting a long straight cut?
2) The biggest issue I have is how to make the recess for a glass and artwork. Normally I think this could be done with the router or simply by cutting into the strip wood as shown below.
Can I do this with mounting a drill onto a drill stand vertically, and then attaching a router bit to a drill? I would end up with a sort of upside down router.

Thanks for your help and please please use a layman’s language with me as I am not good with the woodworking terminology just yet.

Thank you

i think that i would just buy picture framing moulding. A router bit in a drill wont work. for the odd frame or two, you could end up spending far more than it might cost to have them framed.