Newbie seeking help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PortersWood

Established Member
Reaction score
Apologies if this has been covered previously, I've been back through the past year's posts and not found an answer.

I am new to scrolling and have recently bought an Axminster AWFS16 scroll saw (partly as a beginner to be sure that I enjoy scrolling and partly because having also turned my hand to joinery was unable to get a larger spend passed the accountant) and am using the pinless Pegasus blades supplied with it.

Having completed some exercises I decided to have a go at the 3D reindeer design on the link below

https://woodgears.ca/reindeer/scrollsaw_plans.html

My problems are thus:

I have noticed that the back of the blade has worn a small groove in the back of the plastic table insert. Is the blade tension not high enough or am I pushing the stock through the machine too hard? I don't personally think its either of these but I must be doing something wrong.

I have also noticed that while working, the blade ends up at an angle within the work piece as such that on the reindeer, the back legs got cut off. The saw table is set at the correct angle and doesn't happen every time I cut one of these, so again assume I'm doing something wrong rather than an issue with the saw.

Blade tension. it should ring when you pluck it.

I'd also suggest buying in some more blades, I'd expect that the blade you are using isn't the right TPI for the thickness of material you are cutting which wont help with the amount of pressure you are having to put in to move through it.

a blade with naturally want to wander (typically to the right) because of the way the teeth are set, this is more pronouced in thicker stock, more practice and you'll get the hang of it. :)