Newbie - quandry

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gjhimages

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

i first posted a couple of weeks ago i have purchased an Awfs16, i also fitted the Olson quick change bits to replace the not very good axminster supplied pinless blade holders

my problem now is its a right pain to do internal cuts. to feed the blade properly you have to take the side off to ensure the blade holder still sits it the bracket of the lower arm

it xmas so

bearing in mind i am a hobbyist should i trreat myself to a hegner multicut 1 , single speed , or axminster awfs18?

would i eventually need variable speed?

most posts say variable is most useful for thinner materials but with care would a single speed be ok?

i am looking at the multicut 1 mainly due to size and weight , i scroll in spare bedroom so space is limited

your thoughts or ideas would be appreciated

merry Xmas etc to all

Depends on the size of things you want to make ( Throat size ) I would go for the hegner multicut 1 , A quality machine , Variable speed is a nice addition , good for cutting brass , alloys perspex etc

Just my opinion others will disagree

Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the awfs16 , as a beginner what i have done so far is acceptable and at the price £86 its a bargain
but to move on to more demanding tasks i think i need to change it
maybe i should have saved up first but was worried investing £300+ on a first saw seemed a bit daunting in case i lost interest before progressing

gjhimages":bdyc7avm said:
it xmas so

bearing in mind i am a hobbyist should i trreat myself to a hegner multicut 1 , single speed , or axminster awfs18?

would i eventually need variable speed?

most posts say variable is most useful for thinner materials but with care would a single speed be ok?