New Member, needs advice on Band saw cutting depths

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jase158

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
Thank you for letting me on here,

I am new to woodwork, just doing a basic woodworking course. I have done some woodwork before but nothing major.

My wife has bought me a lathe and a few chisels for xmas! cant wait!!

I noticed that I need a Band saw for cutting the wood, cutting ends off my pieces and for shaping items.

I am thinking that it would be better to go larger cutting depth, rather then smaller but cant find one for a reasonable price.

I have done a search on here and see that many people buy cheaper units (metabo, axminster etc)

Why do you wise people buy the smaller cutting depth machines? What am i missing?

The thing is, that I enjoy making things from logs, solid pieces of wood etc and can't see the benefit of buying one less then 150mm cutting depth.

But the cheapest one I can find is the Dewalt DW876, £642 (Can't post link yet)

Any advice greatly appreciated.

You can cut small pieces with a large saw, but not large pieces with a small one. Don't just look at the cutting depth however, look at the size of the motor as well - some at the cheaper end will supposedly cut however many mil but do not have a large enough motor for it. For the type of work some people do, however, space and financial constraints make a smaller one a better choice - of course, if you belong to club you may well have access to a large one there.

Maybe a chainsaw would be more useful if your cutting logs? many saws claim to cut thick stuff but in reality they can't, When I bought mine I thought great i can cut 8" thick logs.....wrong apart from the fact the machine isn't rigid enough to tension a wide blade the motors can also struggle with thick wood.