mdf drawer units

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tezza111

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi There. I am a fairly competent carpenter albeit still learning and have been asked to build some various
pieces of fitted furniture to some alcoves for a regular customer. We have agreed on Mdf painted up white.
Whilst I have constructed wardrobes cabinets before I have never built drawer units from scratch and know
very little about them and what methods are used and what runners to use etc. Can anyone help or point me
in the right direction? This alcove where the drawer units are to go is pretty small 310mm deep and 800 wide.
The drawer unit is to be approx 1000mm high with floating shelves above.
I am a little concerned that this may not be deep enough to get any substantial drawer units in and advise the client
that it would be better to build the cabinet out a bit from the alcove say to 450mm but she seemed adamant that it needs to be
flush with the edge of alcove. Can anyone offer me any advice here.

Cheers

Tel

ive just made something simular, i used some of these http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Full-Ext-Metal-Dr ... 336634f5ad but shop around to get a good price, by using these you make up your mdf cascase (in my case biscuits and pocket screws) then make your draws smaller by the thickness of two draw runners normally an 1", then these scew on the side, quick an easy. or if you want propers draws you could screw runners etc to the carcase the make your draws up from there,
hope this helped in some way

Thanks for a quick response fellas. I was thinking along these lines. I was planning making the drawers from
18mm mdf just wondered if they will be too heavy for these runners? Ive noticed too Bob that they do make 250mm and 300mm runners so it will be possible to keep the drawers into the recess.......wont be much room in them though!