Just another box, but it’s my first one.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe1975

Established Member
Reaction score
Newbie here. I’ve have made a pencil tray before (I got the dovetails the wrong way round - the pins were much wider than the tails!) but otherwise this is my first attempt at making something ‘nice’.
It’s about 6” x 4”. It’s ALL hand tools because I don’t have any machines. I used a Stanley no5, a couple of Japanese saws, an old Stanley Chisel, a combination square, a marking gauge, a homemade dovetail marker, a shooting board, and a pencil. It’s finished with Danish oil.

I would love some critique (don’t hold back) about the design and execution. I learned a lot from making it. Not sure what woods I’ve used, maybe European oak and Sapele, and something else. They’re just off cuts someone gave to me.
Would have been nice to have been able to make the detail in the lid out of the same wood as the box. The lid is arguably a bit bulky, what do you think?

14E0E753-8E40-491B-92A9-0362CE8AB1CD.jpeg
84F9C79F-62C4-48D6-BBCE-FC350AF3A206.jpeg
22B5D504-FB9B-4278-BD9E-105EC32B0C0A.jpeg
42AB2514-C651-4D16-9912-C7D290FF070D.jpeg
B58E046D-1350-487A-BFBB-2329A76853AB.jpeg

Last edited:
You have some nice tight joints there, only question would be the end grain on the lid, seems to have saw marks still visible, or it that just the photo? It would probably have been easy enough to clean up before finishing. The thickness of the lid is what is it is, it's neither right nor wrong, yes it could be slimmer but that would change the character of the box.

Looks good - well done. The different woods used work well together.

One thing worth considering is using a groove to contain the base. A mitred dovetail sounds quite complicated but it’s not and this link discusses some other methods.

Cheers