How good are the budget Mortisers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've had Delta, Charnwood, Axminster, NuTool and Record morticers, all do the job fine if you accept the limitations of smaller motors, chatty hold down clamps etc. (Maybe not the NuTool one so much, it was pretty dire). The Axminster one you provided the link to is by no means the least capable of these, similar to the Charnwood and Record with x y table and a decent bit of weight to it.
As long as you're making stuff of an appropriate size and take your time then it's all good, one of my favourite power tools as I don't have the time or patience to hand cut mortices but it is a satisfying way to join bits of wood together.

I bought the Axy one last year and it's performed just fine the small amount I have used it. I reckon [and I'm no expert!] that the chisels probably have as significant an impact as the machine, within reason. I also bought a couple of the Axcalibre quick set chisels to go with it and they work fine for me. [better than my previous cheaper ones]

In fact if you search there'll be a thread on here....here you go
https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/bench-morticer-advice-t93165.html?hilit=morticer

Having used a few, I don't have one in my own workshop. I need to be cutting a LOT of joints to make having this machine worthwhile. If you are doing less than about 100 mortices a year in a home workshop, maybe the space is better consumed by something else.

Having brought a bottom of the pile budget mortiser I would say aim for the Axminster or record if you are purchasing anything in the budget end of the market.
Having no patience for less than suitable tools or tools that need constant tweaking to work optimally my mortiser was used for one job then retired to other duties (crappy pillar drill or sanding duty).