Hand tools and other questions.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John36

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just wondered if anyone on the forum could recommend a basic set of needed tools for hand woodwork only? I'm a total beginner at the woodwork so aren't totally sure if i have what most people would consider the basic necessitys.

So far i have accumulated some chisels, some clamps, saws (including a tenon) screwdrivers, glue (titebond II), cordless drill, a ryobi compound mitre saw, and a no.5 plane i bought off ebay ,I haven't used it yet as it's covered in grease from when the previous owner stored it, some other basic things like tapes and a small square etc... will also purchase a workmate next weekend.

I would love to be able to buy some of the machines i see mentioned here like a table saw and planer, but i think this might upset the neighbours (flat). Does anyone know of machines like this i could use in a flat that are quietish? I have quite good insulation in this flat but I'm not sure it could stretch to a table saw.

I have seen some lovely projects on here like Devonwoodys* boxes and and some other really nice furniture and just wondered if these projects are eventually feasible using hand tools?, as it seems everyone appears to use machines. I'd also like to ask a question regarding the wood you guys/gals are using, are you mostly buying offline? the pricing structure seems a bit weird, per cubic foot. Would i be better of trying to locate wood in my home town or is the internet a lot cheaper?.

I have currently started trying to build a fish tank stand using the tools I have, the frame is starting to take shape and while it appears to be square, the 3x2's from B and Q leave a lot to be desired. I will post pictures of the stand when i am finished.

Great forum you have here, thanks for reading.

Hi John, welcome to the forum.