Dating Spear and Jackson

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Martin
I'm no expert (although I do have a few S+J saws) but this looks like 1950 onwards. The saw has rivets instead of saw nuts and the original varnish has been removed from the handle. Don't pay too much for it - I normally buy these from local car boot sales for £1 - £2.
Hope this helps
Philly :D

Hi,
The second one down is a between the war Spear and Jackson, the handle is far more elaborate then yours indacating it must be later, so 60s looks about right.
saws.jpg

Pete

Hi Martin

I have a couple of those panel saws ..

image002.jpg

I think I paid about $10 each (perhaps a little less). They are in great condition and are really nice to use.

My guess is about 1960.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Phily wrote:
I'm no expert (although I do have a few S+J saws) but this looks like 1950 onwards. The saw has rivets instead of saw nuts

For reference, my handles are not rivetted. Whatever relevance that has .... :?

Regards from Perth

Derek

Martin Cash":1prnunpy said:
Thanks everyone for the feedback.
Is there a web reference, similar to the Disstonian Institute, for Spear and Jackson Saws?

MC

There is only one brand of saw (that I know of) that has a reference of that standard.

Ditto for planes - Blood & Gore is Stanley.

BugBear

Hi Martin

Correct me if you like , If you dont i'm sure someone will . I think i read a long time ago that on the disston web site that S&J was swallowed up into there empire many years ago might be worth a look.

I think it came out once there under the superior warren /ted brand which was a second line production saw sold cheaper than there own disston brand. might be a pointer in the right direction.

mjmpropman":267zxcnf said: