Construction tips for gate

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dangermouse2020

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone :D

Im a long time reader of the forum, and im a keen woodworker, although my skills aren't very refined yet considering im very early along my wood working journey :D but i finally plucked up the courage to post on here so here goes.

I am just about to construct my new ledge and brace framed wooden gate, but i have a few questions about the finer construction details that i am hoping you can help me with.

I plan to construct the frame using mortice and tennon joints, but im unsure which glue to use.

1. Any suggestions on what glue would be best? Preferably something that doesn't take to long to dry.

The front of the gate will be cladded in t&g boards, which i had planed to be grooved into the top rail and stiles and then each board glued together. But im not really sure how the cladding needs to be fixed to the front of the frame? Should it be pinned or screwed to the mid-rail?

2. What fixings should i use for the cladding? and what length would be most appropriate?

The gate itself is approximately 2m x 1m and both 4x2" gate posts will be secured to masonry walls, but i am unsure what size masonry bolts i should use so any ideas? I was thinking maybe 4" long, 2" for the gate posts and 2" into the masonry.

3. But what length and diameter would be best?

One last thing that is more out of curiosity, does the bottom rail have to be wider than the other rails and stiles? Much like it is on doors, and is it purely for greater strength/support at the base? I only ask as it seems that it breaks up the symmetry of the frame dimensions if the bottom rail is wider.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, and i hope you guys can help :)

Well done for posting....you wont regret it