Bike rack

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DoctorWibble

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all
I'm in need of a cheap bike rack for a Golf Mk5. To collect my daughter from Manchester Uni. It's 200 motorway miles away so I'm a bit nervous of buying one that is unreliable or dangerous. But reluctant to cough serious dosh for something that'll be used possibly only three times. She'll be in her last year next year.
Any suggestions on what to get or on what to avoid? I've no experience of bike racks.
Cheers
Ken

can she leave it with a local friend- save you the hassle and expense?

marcros":2jn5mosk said:
can she leave it with a local friend- save you the hassle and expense?

That's a good thought and something we did manage last year but seems this year all are decamping for the summer.

Have you got a friend with one?

If you're in the Kent region I think I can lend you one

These kind of things are probably beg/borrow/steal jobbies if you aren't going to use them every summer holiday when everyone else will probably be using theirs

Otherwise I would go with Gumtree second hand

Hope something there was of use
Jacob

If you have to end up buying one I can recommend a saris bones. Not the easiest to fit but bomb proof. Unless you have a tow bar, in which case get one that mounts to it.

F.

I bought one of these to take my son to uni (admittedly only ~80 miles) and it was absolutely fine. I added a few extra straps to hold it together, but other than the convoluted instructions, it was perfectly serviceable. Haven't used it since, mind...

HTH, Pete

I've got some Thule racks which fit onto roof bars. Very solid and secure, with locks so you can leave them unattended.