Best way to deal with some green logs - sycamore and cherry

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tallis

Reaction score
Greetings all,

I've just joined the forums so be gentle with me. Im a very beginner woodworker/turner just starting to try and learn a bit more technique and develop some skills for what has always been a bit of a bodge-hobby, so grateful for any advice - no doubt as I get going i'll be a bit of a regular fixture..(read: pain the ar*e).

A gardner I know is due to take down an sycamore tree and also some cherry - the former is around 8-10" diameter trunk and the cherry around 6" - and he offered me some sections for turning or working.

I really dont know what the best way would be to prepare such timber and I would be grateful for any advice - are there any useful links explaining the different options/techniques - I have access to a chainsaw and a relatively low power bandsaw (small cut depth).

For producing some suitable turning blanks - what would the best way to get the most out of this wood - Its not yet been felled so i can specify what size logs.

I've heard about simply sealing the end grain with parrafin wax, planking through a saw, quarter-sawing and part-turning green - but i know little in any detail - any hints, tips and signposts to useful resources to look at (even good book titles) would be much appreciated.

welcome Tallis to the forum, i am new to turning myself but did find myself in the same predicament as yourself not to long ago, all i have done is seal the ends of 3'- 4' logs and left them covered behind my cabin.
I have just taken delivery of 2 birch 1 cherry and 1 lime trunk and i intend to do the same as above.
Others will be along shortly with their knowledge. :lol: