Axminster AW2260s planer thicknesser

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kzaji

Reaction score
Hello, looking to get a planer thicknesser and I'm wanting a nice solid machine but the Mrs isn't onboard with me spending 500+ on an old, used machine. She's all about warranty and hates it when I buy things second hand incase I have an issue and can't take it back. Plus, I'm not very good with fixing up machines, and collection would be difficult for me.

I'm getting real tired of jointing and planning to thickness by hand so the next logical toy for me is a jointer. I've looked at the options for new and the cheaper options don't seem to get good reviews. The two that I've found are the itech and this one from Axminster Axminster Workshop AW2260S Planer Thicknesser Spiral Block - 230V

Itech gets great reviews but is a lot more expensive. The Axminster one looks super similar though, but I can't find anything about it because it's a new model I think. I don't really know much about them or what I'm really looking for.

Can someone who knows what they're looking at let me know if it's a good machine for the price? Or does anyone have experience of it?

I have Axminsters band saw and I'm pretty happy with that. I'm hoping this is equally as well built.

Cheers.

I think that generally there's a difference between a portable power tool and a floor standing machine in that I'd expect a power tool to work properly straight out of the box, whereas with a stationary machine I'd expect to have to check it over and set it up. So there's a certain mindset involved.

This would apply whether the item was used or new. But you need a willingness to get stuck in.