American Cherry for outdoor use?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thedman

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm just getting into woodworking, I've made a few simple things indoors but now I want to make an outdoor dining table - before the mrs buys a rubbish one...

I dont want the table top to go grey though. I don't mind it going darker or even black. And obviously I want it to be durable so it can last. (I will cover it over the winter). I saw on Good Timber's website: "American Cherry is very durable and is suitable for both indoor and outdoor use" but other sites list it as Moderately Durable, Ideally I would like the table to last for 25 years... Is American Cherry suitable? If not what timbers would you recommend? Durable and not greying. I'd like it to be about 45mm thick.

For what its worth I'll make the base/frame from Cedar (so that will grey...)

Thanks in advance,

Dave.

I would have said Iroko for outside, I don't know which one is cheaper.

Pete

I'm sure iroko will grey, but american cherry should go a dark brown...

Padauk might be an option, goes from Orange to black... anyone any experience with this??

All timbers left untreated will turn grey. UV kills off the lignin so the original colour of the timber will disappear. Horizontal surfaces may be prone to algae turning it black or green.

A surface coating, will protect against this happening, but only tinted finishes have long term resistance against UV. Generally the colour generically known as 'light oak' is the palest colour that lasts a few years at least. Many companies have tried offering clear varnishes for outside, but only pigments can stop sunlight breaking down the coating.

Iroko is great outside, others include oak, cedar, siberian larch, chestnut.

thedman":fwmiuiep said:
Hi Folks,