Advice on french cleats

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DangerousDave

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm fitting wall units as part of a fitted bedroom and was planning on using cleats to mount them on the wall. I've never done this before and I'm not sure of a few things :? ;

1. It's a stud wall, can I screw the cleats through the plasterboard into the studs, or do I need to remove the plaster board and replace it with ply for the width of the units? The studs seem to be at approx 400mm centres

2. What sort of timber do I need to use for the cleats, would scrap rough sawn be ok or do I need to use hardwood?

3. Do I need to add additional noggins between the studs where the cleats will be attached?

Any advice would be very much appreciated. Also if anyones interested there's WIP pics
here

Forgot to mention, the carcasses are 18mm MFC and are pretty heavy

deffo fit a ply panel if you can. Softwood or even ply should be fine.

Cheers Screw Loose, that site looks good. Don't have time to look at it properly now as SWMBO is yapping in my ear for her to have a go on the computer now :x I'll take a proper look at it when she's gone to bed

Dave,

You can leave the plasterboard in place and screw right through it and into the studs, but you'll need nice long screws to get a good purchase. The cleat can be made of anything... scrap soft- or hardwood, ply, whatever, but you might make it wide enough for an upper an lower screw at each stud, for insurance.

A problem I ran into once was that the wall wasn't flat where I wanted to attach the cleat, so I had to shim it out at each end since, of course, the back of the cabinet with cleat was quite straight and flat.

any old scraps will do and through the plasterboard into the studs is fine