A bit different.. a wooden anchor! WIP no more!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zodiac

Established Member
Reaction score
Despite being a woodworking newbie, I am in the middle of making a wooden anchor for my nearly 3 year old's pirate themed bedroom. A search on Pinterest for ideas to copy turned up mostly ones cut from a sheet of ply but I did find an antique one which is more 3D and made of timber, so I'm having a go at that!

Also I'm only using reclaimed wood, which might actually help it to look aged. I'll put up some photos a bit later when I work out how to, maybe pick up some tips from you more experienced guys along the way.

:)

Maybe start with something simpler like a plank lol (sorry Dangermouse has more self control than I).

Good Luck and welcome to a woodier world.

Oh, unless you mean a "walk the plank" plank. I'm not that much of a newbie hopefully !

I meant one of these ...

il_fullxfull.295220580.jpg

... but I'm not attempting the chain, will probably use old rope if anything in place of that.

Sorry trying to be funny and failing. They are a very helpful bunch on here, I'm pretty new to this wood working lark myself.

Think a proper 3d anchor might be a tad ambitious for a first project if it was me I think I'd try and cut out an anchor type shape out of mdf or other cheap material and then make it 3D with papier mache. Obviously attach it to the wall well above your young lad's reach.

He's not called Jim is he ?

Edit: That anchor looks deceptively simple, one stake and two cross beams. The top one should be fairly easy to create but the curved one at the bottom could be trickier. All depends on what tools you have / access too.

No, he's not Jim Lad either lol