1/2" Router advice please : Axminster or Dewalt or ???

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EdK

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello
I'd like to buy a router for general use, for fitting out a kitchen and for possible use on a staircase - also I make wooden spearguns.

I've used a mates cheapy one in a home made table and it did the job. My mate is telling me to get one for 40 quid from B&Q ....

I prefer tools that last and are well made but am not sure if he is right as I am a newbie to tools and woodworking.

I've been reading books like the 'Router Handbook' and other woodworking books and am pretty sure that I am after a 1/2" router with about 2000W as I would like to be able to use it in a table.

I'll be buying online - probably from Axminster. While looking at their site it showed the following:

Axminster AW127R
Dewalt DW625EK
CMT 2000
Makita 3612CX

I am a total beginner so am not sure whether to save a bit of cash and go for the Axminster one or to spend a bit more and go for one of the more expensive ones. Any opinions/experiences ?

I feel strangely drawn to the Dewalt one....

I read a bit about making a table for the router in some library books (and just now on this site) and will probably give this a go. What is a good insert to go for ? Will the Axminster one for 20 quid be ok or is there a better one for similar money ?
Guess I will need an NVR switch too.

Thanks for any help.

Ed

You have to pay for quality in a good Router. The opinions on each vary from person to person - but one thing is definite ......... if you buy any of the name brands from Axminster, you're paying at least 15% over the top! Axminster are good - but it pays to shop around and try a few. Hold them - use them if possible and see what you think.