Which bandsaw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonnio

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there everyone, can someone recommend a good bandsaw? I make my living from my workshop, we make all types of built in and free-standing furniture. We use hard and softwoods, reclaimed and new. Due to the dwindling sources of good wood I'm looking to be able to re saw various sizes we come across into usable dimensions. Probably mostly around 20cm wide maybe up to 25cm. Also I would hope to benefit from the types of general cutting associated with the bandsaw that I have previously done without.
The workshop is only single phase but we have two 16amp outlets already for the table saw and P/T.
Ive been looking at machines from Hammer, record, startrite and axminsters trade and pro ranges. I already have the hammer a26 P/T and am impressed. The axminsters are a bit cheaper but I am worried that some of the parts may be sub to keep the costs down, although the specs look good. The startrites seem to have a good rep but are the new ones as good these days? I can see they are something to do with record, is that good? I have some vague memory that record may have gone a bit downhill (dont know)??
I think what I'm after is:

a solid machine
an accurate machine
10" capacity
single phase
serviceable
price up to 2k (reluctantly)

also I think I'd prefer a new machine, unless someone can recommend a reliable used source.
Any advice is much apreciated, thanks.

I've got the Hammer n4400. It's good, but so are plenty of other bandsaws, a used 351 or 352 will probably keep the thick end of £1000 in your pocket and do just as good a job. But if you prefer new then I get that, I did too.