Spindle Moulder question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DFC1047

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to woodworking, and have never used a spindle moulder before, although I have seen the one I have , in operation before I acquired it. Kity 0629.
I am making some replacement shutters for my house ( in France), from chestnut. I have planed up the wood, now in 1.3 meter lengths, 150 mm wide, 30 mm thick, which I need to tongue and groove and thought the spindle moulder would be ideal.
In the photo you will see the tool block, and 2 cutting knives. I have 2 of each.
Question, although they differ in weight by 15 grams, can I mount the 2 different ones, so I can make the groove and a chamfer on one edge, then turn the wood over for a second pass to centralise the groove, and make the second chamfer OR must I use 2 similar knoves to cut the groove, then change to the chamfer knives and cut the chamfers.

Any other comments, advice would be greatly appreciated .

Attachments

• IMG_4206 (Small).JPG
    IMG_4206 (Small).JPG
    43.5 KB · Views: 194
I wouldn't do it. Theoretically it might be possible, but with 2 same blades you'll have a cleaner cut and
your bearings will last longer. True, It'll take a few extra passes.

I once saw an old-timer do something similar. He used just one cutter and in the opposite slot he put an
old worn out blade. He had a heavy cast iron machine and still it made funny noises when he used this method.
His blades weren't self-centering and he said he couldn't be bothered to set them up every time, so he used just one.

Don't try this at home folks (as they say on TV).

What you have there is a euro block I`v never seen a euro block fitted with 4 knives. It should be used with 2 knives and 2limiters. The limiters are to stop the machine acting soft and also to stop you taking your fingers off up to your elbow.