Please help should I clear lacquer? #editted

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

therealriley

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie here. I'm hoping to find some advice on a project if possible.

I purchased an old wooden ammo box which was used for storing bomb equipment I think (it's empty now obviously).
I will be upcycling it into a coffee table.

My issue is on the outside it has old brown paint which is flaking in places and on top of that it has yellow painted numbers and markings which I wanted to keep exactly how it looks now.

If after I've gave this a sand down in places is there anything I can use like oil or clear lacquer to protect the wood and the painted writing on the side to keep it looking like an ammo box?

I will be placing the lid back on top but with hinges so I need it to be sealed well for a coffee table to protect it.

No opinion will go a miss so any help is appreciated please.
Many thanks
Paul

You might wish to consider using something like West Systems epoxy resin - if the patina and markings etc are to be kept like that indefinitely then an epoxy resin finish is the way to go as it will provide a thick, non yellowing, non peeling, impervious to water coating.