Burgess BK3 keeps jamming/stopping

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineprovider

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a a real amateur and am retired and thought it would hobby to start wood turning. I bought a lathe etc,etc and a Burgess bandsaw. I`ve replaced the very worn rubber drive belt but even for a 1/4" strip to cut the saw is jamming or shall I say stopping.
I`ve read several posts and tried cleaning the blade checked the bottom right hand wheel for a worn bearing but still the problem persists.
As they don`t make these anymore I can`t get hold of a manual to start the set-up from scratch so I need some help.
Regards to all.
wineprovider

Hi wineprovider
The burgess bandsaws were a very popular little machine in their day and you should be able to get good results with it.
Bandsaws are pretty simple machines, really and the first thing to get right is choosing the right blade for the job.
What are you trying to cut and how many teeth per inch (TPI) do you have on your blade?
I recommend you get a new blade from Ian John at Tuffsaws and take it from there.
Cheers
Steve

Well, the manual isn't hard to find - see here - https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/post699960.html#p699960 though it is pretty brief.

Setup is the same as for any bandsaw - I suggest that you attack it in this order:

1 Unplug!
2 Open cover. Turn by hand, checking for any binding.
3 Slacken off the upper and lower blade guides by undoing the allen bolts and sliding the brass bars out. Remove these and file/polish the ends square
4 Check if everything turns ok with the guides off - they may have been too tight.
5 There are oil ports (=holes) on the wheels - put a drop of thin oil in each. It is probably worth removing the circlips, then the wheels and cleaning them thoroughly