First block plane advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomP

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have recently been given a Stanley number four and a five. I am new to planes but i think a block plane would be a good idea to add to the toolbox.

Could anyone suggest a good block plane to get started with, not sure if i should be looking for another old Stanley. I also don't want to be spending mega amounts as I'm not sure I'm skilled enough to really tell the difference at the minute

thanks in advance

Tom

I bought my first block plane from screwfix - it was a Stanley, and pretty cheap. I figured a block plane was a block plane. Turns out it doesn't have a screw to advance the blade, so is a compete nightmare to set up.

I've since bought a Stanley 220, which does have a screw to advance. Still not expensive (around £25), but good quality.

I'm sure the plane aficionados will be along soon though!

You need a No62 1/2 low angle block plane, I have a Stanley and a Lie Nelsen, the Stanley doesn't get used, I understand the Quangsheng ones are good http://www.workshopheaven.com/tools/Qua ... html#SID=4

The more skill you have the better you can make a cheap tool work so at your present skill lever the last thing you want to do is fight with a difficult to use tool, it might put you off woodworking.

Pete

Edited to add the half to the 62