Old Record 52 1/2 Vise

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wizer

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I seem to have bought myself a very old Record 52 1/2 QR Vise.

record_vise.jpg

Is there anything I can do in terms of restoration? Or should I get my head read for buying it? I have never used or fitted a vise before so any pointers or tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

PS Is it Vise or Vice? I have seen references to both?

Wow that's perfect! My next question was going to be what should I use to paint it. But even that's been answered!

Thanks very much and I promise to use the search button next time! :roll: :wink:

:D

I think that you can also still get spares for these vices if anything's broke, not sure where tho' - Rob

WiZeR":3jpzh64z said:
Thanks very much and I promise to use the search button next time! :roll: :wink:

Wouldn't worry, I knew it was there and it still took me three attempts to find it !!! :lol:

Cheers, Paul. :D

WiZeR":2da1zvke said:
Hi Guys
PS Is it Vise or Vice? I have seen references to both?

Both words exists, and as far as I know are incorretly used often.

Vice is a 12th century word and comes from the through the frence word vice from laten vitium which means a (moral) fault.

Vise is a 13th century word which comes from the french word viz (screw) from the latin word vitis which is derived from the latin word viere whch means to plait.

A Vise as a tool with jaws moved togehter or apart with a screw is from the 15th century. Before that it was only a screw. In the Netherlands we use the word schroef (related to screw) in Belgum and in old Dutch it is called a vijs (related to vise).

The vise as this record is called a bankschroef in Dutch which literally means bench screw which makes a lot a sence.

So currently you have a vice vise that needs restoration. :D