Worksharp 3000 - Mini review

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MickCheese

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I have put this in Handtools even though it is really a machine!

I am just a hobby woodworker, I have always enjoyed making things but recently it has been DIY stuff. I will try my hand at most things, even plastering. (Not very good at that though!)

I have tried lots of different way to sharpen my tools, oil stones, ceramic stones, scary sharp the list goes on. I got on OK with the scary sharp system and the ceramic stone to finish but it seemed to take ages and I now know my tools were never properly sharp. I understand it was down to operator error and maybe I should have persevered?

Recently I took the plunge and bought the Worksharp 3000 from ‘Rutlands’.
It cost £199 and included a free leather honing wheel that I thought I would not really use but it was included, more about that later. I did ponder over the cost as it seemed quite expensive.

Worksharp

It arrived the day after ordering, well packaged within a Rutlands box. Upon opening the Worksharp box there is the machine, two 150mm tempered glass grinding wheels, one slotted grinding wheel, a tool rest, abrasive disc cleaner and an abrasives pack also the free Leather Hone Kit. It also has a 2 year warranty. It appeared a lot smaller than I had imagined.
So, as usual, I ignore the instructions and begin. (I had seen a video on YouTube).

Setting up is really easy, just peal the backing from the abrasives and stick them to the wheel. I wasn’t sure to begin with if I could stick one to one side of the wheel and another to the other, but that is the case.
Stood it on the worktop, turned it on, grabbed a old nasty chisel and began sharpening.

This is when I realised I needed to read the instructions, so I did.