Woodworking Ideas For Gift/Keepsake/Memento for a new baby

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yan89

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys

As the title suggests, just wondered if anyone had any suggestions beyond the standard rocking chair, cradle or high chair projects for a new baby?

Anything at all suggestion-wise is welcome!

It's a bit awkward for absolute newborns, they can't actually do anything for the first couple of months. Any toys are beyond them at least initially.

One thing that comes to mind is a toy box/chest/bench. It's the kind of thing that always comes in useful and could easily go with them during their life as opposed to e.g. a cot which has limited lifespan.

It's a bit awkward for absolute newborns, they can't actually do anything for the first couple of months. Any toys are beyond them at least initially.

One thing that comes to mind is a toy box/chest/bench. It's the kind of thing that always comes in useful and could easily go with them during their life as opposed to e.g. a cot which has limited lifespan.
Yeah that’s what I’m leaning towards now for sure. Just need to find some plans. I’m thinking a rectangular box with a bit of depth, with a couple of little floating boxes inside for the lock of hair and hospital band

I made a rattle out of oak for a colleague when she had her first baby
20220223_171103.jpg
20220223_171117.jpg

I definitely go with the box idea. with smaller boxes inside. It will be with them for the rest of their lives and possibly passed on to the next generations. I think it would be very interesting for future generations if you date it and have your name inside with a short story of the box, as well as the baby's name somewhere.
That would be a lovely personal gift, but once you start the tradition.....you might be making a lot of boxes