Woodwork design software other than Sketchup ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeremy Nako

Established Member
Reaction score
As I get into more complex (for me !) projects, so I'd like to be able to design them properly and take advantage of cut lists etc.

My background is in software design so I'm very computer literate and generally pick up new packages quickly.

I have a copy of Sketchup 2017 which I've tried on numerous occasions to get to grips with but without success.

So.. is there anything else out there that maybe does a similar job ? I'd much prefer a desktop rather than cloud based app, but actually anything would do.

Addendum.. this would be for PC, not Mac.

Last edited:
Fusion 360 is a good option. It makes more sense to me than Sketchup, which has kind of a unique approach. If you learn Fusion, there is less of a gap when switching to alternative CAD programs.

There's also many great resources about Fusion 360 on Youtube. For woodworking I found the videos from Andy of the Woodgrafter very useful:

With the OpenBOM add-in you can generate cut lists from Fusion 360 as well. This is a paid add-on, but free for hobbyists (you just have to send an email to the maker of the add-in to get the free license).