Woodturning Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoyWoodworker

Reaction score
Seen a few pre Christmas offers on Wood Turning Lathes, but as a complete beginner, I am not sure where to start.
Also if I brought a Lathe what else would I need? Any help or advice appreciated.

Seen a few pre Christmas offers on Wood Turning Lathes, but as a complete beginner, I am not sure where to start.
Also if I brought a Lathe what else would I need? Any help or advice appreciated.
Depends on your budget. Keep it simple and cheap?
These would be good for a long time, slightly more than you need for starters Faithfull HSS Turning Chisel Wooden Boxed Set, 8 Piece
This OK for starters - if you get into it you could move up without losing much money Scheppach DM600-VARIO Electric Wood Lathe 230V
Then you need sharpening kit - it can be done freehand on a stone but slowly. Some form of linisher or belt sander the easiest power option.
You'll probably get a lot of enthusiastic advice to spend, spend, but just have to resist!
My favourite book is Percy Blandford's "Woodturning". From the days before the mass enthusiasm for endless expensive add ons.

Last edited:
I like my myford ml8.....

Great lathe, nice and strong, simple to operate.

Cheers James

I did a course before buying mine. Or possibly shortly after, which is the wrong way around, but I already wanted to make round things.

I did the Axminster one; it showed me that the things I wanted to do could be done with what comes with the lathe, a very small number of turning tools, some method for sharpening them (I went Tormek, other fine solutions exist) and one chuck with one set of jaws. I've not added much to my turning setup since.

The keith rowley book is great snd advocates the same advice as above, dont go buying lots of kit.....