Wood Identification

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jongwe

Reaction score
Hi,

I am relatively new to woodworking and bought some hardwood some time ago, that I have turned into a simple light pull (as pictured), but I would like to know what type of wood it is. Unfortunately it was only labelled as "hardwood blank" when I bought it.

I have finished the pictured with Danish oil, so if a picture of the original wood would help, I can upload one this weekend - just let me know.

I looked on the wood database and from what I can tell, it looks like walnut, but have made a few assumptions when coming to that conclusion.

Many thanks,

Mark

Attachments

• IMG_1.jpeg
    IMG_1.jpeg
    154.8 KB · Views: 311
  • IMG_2.JPEG
    IMG_2.JPEG
    150.2 KB · Views: 310
Thanks Trevanion. Will get a pic taken and uploaded hopefully tonight.

Unfortunately this is the only photo I can upload from my phone due to the size limitations, but hopefully it helps.

Attachments

• FB01572F-94C4-4AC2-A0C6-A056BED6D12A.jpeg
    FB01572F-94C4-4AC2-A0C6-A056BED6D12A.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 254
Looks like iroko to me too.
You could get some more opinions to confirm this showing the face grain of the rest in the flat.
I'm sure most folks that work with the stuff make doors and windows and the likes, and not as used to seeing it in the round.

Tom

Thanks everyone. Will try and remember to get some more photos of the face and the edge grains of the flat wood tomorrow and get them uploaded.

Here's some photos of four sides of the same piece. Hopefully it helps.

Thanks everyone for your time :D

Attachments

• IMG_1511.JPG
    IMG_1511.JPG
    65 KB · Views: 154
Looks very dark to be iroko, a lot different in colour to your first picture.
Presuming that its not oiled, and is definitely the same stock as the rest.