Window Screw Jacks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fidget

Trying
Reaction score
When I did some work on my house over the last 3 years i moved the staircase to it's current position (in the photo) which involved knocking out the floor between my office and the room downstairs. This has led to the top window being rather isolated. As I found in the recent heatwave it would be good to be able to open the casement on the right hand side (beside the cat!), which fortunately is top hung, but is slightly inconvenient as it is over 3 metres up in the air and bringing full height ladders into the house is a right pain. This got me to thinking of a window screw jack to open it. However I have no experience of how they are fitted or the dimensions needed.

Anyone done this before?

20200819_142023.jpg

I'll have a similar prob when I build my next house...not justlight but ventilation....summer temps average 36deg in the shade......no prob for me as the wiring will get done before the plastering...
I found a remote controlled elec screw jack to open n close a top hung window from eBay.....diff length of operation avail....
just needs a 12v supply up there.....
think it was about £50 complete....
did at first think of the ones we used at school all those years ago but then u have to store the pole....

You could use a screw jack and remote winder. A cord operated quadrant opener or even an electric operator.

Thanks chaps.

Frank, it would be best to have it electrified but I have no supply anywhere near

Mike. Yeah, I'm looking at a screw jack but the quadrant opener was a new one to me, I'll keep looking.